7 Things I Learned About Myself Through My Best Friend

In our nine years of friendship, I have learned a considerable amount of things about myself. Stuff that either I did not know of, or believed the opposite of.

1.  I value sleep more than anything else.

I generally considered myself as a nocturnal ever since. Late nights were a no-brainer for me. It was not a problem at all. But slowly, age caught up with me not falling asleep gets harder and harder for me. I close my eyes for five whole seconds and my hands loose grip. I fall asleep faster than I can say I am sleepy. So whenever me and my best pal agree to catch up on late night gossip talks, I really have a hard time keeping myself up. I’m sorry for that. 🙂

2.   I am NOT frugal.

Really, I am not. I shell out purchases in a heartbeat. I am picky with stuff so when I find something I really really like, it is a done deal. This is why I should not have gotten a credit card. She’s my financial SOS and she always keeps me in check. Thank you for that. 🙂

3.  I might have a mild case of OCD.

She is OC-ier than I am, but I got it from her. Food, drinks, vacations, clothes, bedsheets, even people. Hahaha. Let’s keep it on the right. 🙂

4.  I tend to judge people.

I know that judging people is not a good thing. But impressions (especially bad ones) really last, at least for us. Once someone has messed up before our eyes, it is not easy to forget, especially if we were negatively affected by the mishap . We tend to share the same wave of common sense that we expect the same outcome for almost everything. Once an unfortunate event happens, the person behind it do not have a very high chance of redeeming themselves to our standards. (Said like a real bully. Ha.) But really, we should lessen stop doing this. 😐

5.  I have a considerable long patience.

My best friend has the patience the length of a matchstick. She snaps easily. And when I say snap, I mean like really SNAP. I still get frustrated, but I think I am used to it (and sometimes expect it) now.  With this, I have proven myself to be the more patient one. I do get irritated, but I keep it to myself for as long as I can. Let’s work on this. 🙂

6.  I get less and less picky with what I eat.

I eat zero vegetables before. But ever since I met my best friend, she was patient enough to introduce me to a few green leafy friends. She cooks them in a way that my palate accepts. I am far from having to get accustomed to them all, but at least, I am eating some. Also, the only fish that I eat before are those that are fried. Now I would prefer paksiw over prito. I am in gratitude for that. 🙂

7.  I can get overprotective.

I can swim. She cannot. I have not, and am not confident on saving another person’s life, so I tend to carry the weight of having her drowning right next to me whenever we are in the water. She can stay afloat for a considerable amount of time, but is immobile once her feet leaves the pool/oceanfloor. So really, sorry for being strict but please understand that I want you safe and sound whenever possible.

Cheers to more years! ❤

Over and out!

sign_trans

One thought on “7 Things I Learned About Myself Through My Best Friend

Leave a comment