LAPIS AT PAPEL

DSC_0481

Me and my officemates took part in a charity work recently. It was called Lapis@Papel Project, with an aim to equip the less fortunate kids of Mindoro with school supplies. It was my first of many things. My first time to board a Roro for more than an hour, my first time to board a dizzy fastcraft, my first time to finish a full vegetable meal, and of course, my first time to take part in a charity work for kids. 😀

DSC_0456

BRGY. QUINOMAY, ORIENTAL MINDORO

DSC_0893

SALAY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL

DSC_0844

DSC_0861

DSC_0846

It was an unforgettable experience. The cheers and claps from the kids were like fuel to my body as I rounded up the last curb after almost an hour of trekking mountain trails and river crossings.

IMG_20150627_102949

QUINOMAY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL

Speaking of trekking…. Props to our group of selfless volunteers who braved the harsh trails up the mountains just to reach those dear children. All the love also to all those who donated for all the supplies that we gave out. As expected. The world still has its fair share of good hearts. ❤

DSC_0654

DSC_0447

DSC_0805 DSC_0405DSC_0817DSC_0779 DSC_0395 DSC_0833

DSC_0763

WOODFIELDS REPRESENT! HAHA. WITH THE SCHOOL TEACHERS

DSC_0802

LAPIS AT PAPEL 2015 VOLUNTEERS

DSC_0919

HUWAG NYO PONG KALILIMUTAN SA SUSUNOD NA ELEKSYON..

DSC_0907

SAMPLE BALLOT ATA YUN AH! JK.

The kids’ smiles were beyond priceless. I wanted to snatch a particular child away and keep him in my pocket for emergency energy boosts. Kidinggg! Haha.

IMG_20150627_120322

HEY YOU, CUTIE PIE YOU!

IMG_20150627_120437

They were so grateful for the things that they received. The supplies we brought will only last for a while, but their thankfulness came without complain. They even prepared song and dance numbers with an aim to introduce us to their colorful Mangyan culture. Medyo na-LSS pa nga ako sa “Kaming mga Mangyan.. May simpleng pamumuhay… Lalala”.

IMG_20150627_115734 IMG_20150627_115940 IMG_20150627_120001

DSC_0551

DSC_0513

MANGYAN ETHNIC DANCE

DSC_0521

MANGYAN ETHNIC DANCE

And and and, they prepared food! Honestly, I am not a vegetable person. It’s not that I don’t want to, it’s because I can’t. We were literally in the vicinity of Mother Nature so dishes were all veggies. I am so proud of myself for finishing my meal. 😀

DSC_0726

DSC_0725

Even the parents were dynamic. They readily participated in the games notwithstanding the infants they were carrying around their sarabibian.DSC_0881DSC_0880DSC_0950This was truly an eye-opener for me. It made me desire to help these kids somehow manage to get through every day. It made me want to look around and find out if maybe, I can make this happen to kids back in my hometown too. Made me realize how crazy blessed I was. Thank you,  Lapis @ Papel. Thank you,  Jesus.

DSC_0840



ABOUT LAPIS@PAPEL

You can help too! You can donate school supplies, or volunteer to come to Mindoro (at your own expense) and give them out, OR BETTER YET, you can do both!

Get in touch with the beautiful-inside-and-out Madam Liz Macuja 🙂 through their official Facebook Page Lapis@papel Project 🙂

DSC_0606

EATTTTT…..

DSC_0618

BULAGA! 😀



Helping the less fortunate made me realize how fortunate I am. I may not have the luxury to do and to have all the things that I want, but I have more than enough to survive. And that is what’s important. To survive. But these kids do not have a clear shot to that. Most (if not all) of them are malnourished. They may be getting by one day at a time, but surely time will take its toll on their bodies. A kid in the sixth grade is no taller than my pre-schooler inaanak. It is heartbreaking.

Emo stuff aside, we had tons of fun and would not think twice of doing it again!

DSC_0489

DSC_0471

Over and out!

Leave a comment